Here I Cook

Ek Bangalir Rannaghaur Theke(From a Bengali’s Kitchen)

Diwali-Diya-Daler Vada

Posted by Sudeshna on October 30, 2008

We’ve moved to own domain name – bengalicuisine.net. You can follow me on Twitter, visit my Flickr photostream.

Autumn in India is all about festivals. Every day brings in the smell of the coming festivities, the joys and the of course the food. Shopping, visting places, meeting relatives and friends,travelling, pandal hopping, worshipping the goddesses, painting the house, coloring rangolis, eating, cooking –  all comes as if in a package in this festival season.

Diyas for sale at a street side stall in Gariahat market, Kolkata

Diyas for sale at a street side stall in Gariahat market, Kolkata

Getting the diyas ready- part I

Getting the diyas ready- part I

Getting the diyas ready- part II

Getting the diyas ready- part II

For the last couple of days I had been doing all these. Visiting my native was one of the main dos in the list. I visited Kolkata, my hometown. As you all feel when you go back home after a long long time I felt the same. My mom, my aunts and everybody in there was ready to welcome me with my favorite platters. For one whole week I had been eating and eating with of course learning these dishes.

Diyas ready to light

Diyas ready to light

Rangoli with pista shell lamps at my Bangalore flat

Rangoli with pista shell lamps at my Bangalore flat

As I was not able to celebrate Diwali with my family, I managed to have the taste of the celebration a few days before the day. Me and my sister went out shopping for the terracotta diyas and painted them with acrylic paints, it was so much fun.

Talking about food I had a pretty good share of the typical home-made dishes and I’ll be putting up one in each of my following posts starting from today with Daler Vada. Daler vada is a typical Bengali starter and also a side dish with rice and dal.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

Motor Dal powder: 100 gms

Onions (Peyaj): 3 medium sizes, juliened

Green chilli (Kacha Lanka): 4, cut into small ringlets

Turmeric powder (Halud Guro): 1 teaspoon

Mustard oil (Sarser tel): 1 tablespoon and extra for deep frying

Salt to taste

Preparation:

  • Take the onions in a bowl and pour in one tablespoon of oil and soak in the onions.
  • Add the other ingredients to the onions.
  • Pour in enough matter to make a soft dough and keep for half an hour.
  • Heat oil in a pan and fry the dough in small balls.
  • Serve with sauce as starter or with rice and dal as a great side dish.
Daler Vada with tomato sauce

Daler Vada with tomato sauce

You can also Subscribe to BengaliCuisine by Email, or Subscribe in a reader

9 Responses to “Diwali-Diya-Daler Vada”

  1. sireesha said

    Very beautiful and pretty diyas …Daler Vada looks gorgeous…

  2. sireesha said

    Congrats on ur award ….Thanks a lot for the award dear 🙂

  3. Nice vada recipe..lovely diyas..

  4. Priti said

    Hi Dear Wish you Happy Diwali (Belated) :)…the pics are looking beautiful….the diyas are very nice n so the vada.l…Thanks for the lovely entry.

  5. Uma said

    lovely diyas…and yum vada’s…i want to try them now…

  6. Sharmila said

    How lucky you could visit home ! 🙂
    Daler bora is an all time fav. 🙂

  7. easycrafts said

    These are so crispy..thanks for the entry

  8. Srivalli said

    Thats for the lovely entry..diyas look great so do the other pictures!

  9. […] with the potatoes, also pakoras made of lentils is a good addition to this preparation. Click on pakoras to know how to make them. Mochar tarkari tastes best with steamed […]

Leave a comment