Here I Cook

Ek Bangalir Rannaghaur Theke(From a Bengali’s Kitchen)

Masur Dal/Red Lentil Recipe

Posted by Sudeshna on January 5, 2009

We’ve moved to own domain name – bengalicuisine.net. You can follow me on Twitter, visit my Flickr photostream.

Legumes are a very important part of our meals. In my family, I have seen my mom cook dal for every meal. Be it an accompaniment for paratha, roti or rice, dal is always there. Among the all types of legumes found in the market, the one that is very popular in my family is the masyr dal, that too it is cooked in a very simple but special way. It tastes so good.

Masur dal is a lentil which is also a part of theย  legume family. Lentils have a very high percentage ofย  proteins, and also essential amino acids like isoleucine and lysine. But, they lack in the other two essential amino acids, viz.,ย  methionine and cystine. Iron which is an important source of nutrition is present in high quantities in lentils and is adviced for pregnant ladies, adolescents or those who suffere from iron deficiency.

Serves 4

Ingredients:

Red lentil (Masur dal): 1 small bowl

Onion (Peyaj): 1 small, finely chopped

Green chili (Kancha Lanka) : 1 or 2, chopped

Turmeric powder (Halud guro): ยผ teaspoon

Mustard oil (Sarser tel): 1 teapoon

Water : 2 cups

Salt to taste

Preparation:

โ€ขยทย ย ย ย ย ย ย  In a pan pour in the water and masur dal with the salt and put to boil

  • Let it boil for 10 to 12 minutes, add water if necessary
  • Heat the oil in a wok and sautรฉ the onions
  • Pour in the now boiled dal
  • Add turmeric powder and green chilies and stir so that the turmeric powder gets mixed well
  • Bring to boil and let it remain for 2 to 3 minutes, then take out of flame

dal

Masur dal tastes good with naything, so just try it with anything you want. Check for more updates here, till then .Happy Cooking and Happy Eating.

I am sending this post as a second entry to My Legume Love Affair, Seventh Helping! hosted by Srivalli, the event actually is the brain child of Well-Seasoned Cook Susan.

mlla7logo

Also sending the recipe to Sara for her Weekend Cookbook Challenge: 36

The post on way to the FIC-January event hosted by Sunshinemom, the color of the event being Yellow this month.

fic-yellow

Also sending it to Ramki’sย  “Recipes for the rest of us” .

recipes_for_the_rest_of_us

My fiancee is in love with this dal, he just licks his fingers whenever I cook it, so here it goes for the lovely event, Just for you hosted by Alka.

justforyou

You can also Subscribe to BengaliCuisine by Email, or Subscribe in a reader

9 Responses to “Masur Dal/Red Lentil Recipe”

  1. Delicious dal, Sudeshna! I too have something in mind for your harvest festival. Should be up soon! Thank you for sending this to FIC-Yellow:)

  2. hmmmmm sounds delicious, i’ll try it tomorrow. poor me, probably one of the worst cook in this world.

  3. @Kriszha
    O dont say that, I believe nobody can be a poor cook, its only a matter of patience that makes the kitchen output look and taste great.

  4. Srivalli said

    Thanks for the lovely entry…

  5. @Meetsudeshna– My problem is that everytime I open a cookbook to make a recipe, it usually starts with “take a clean utensil” and that puts me off. Hence I prefer raw food ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyways thanks, last weekend I prepared dal according to your recipe and it was tasty. Keep sharing your ideas.

  6. @Kriszha,
    First of all thank you so much for trying out my recipe. I am aware of the style in cookbooks, so don’t always stick to it and just let your imagination flow, just see to it that it doesnt flow too much ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. […] Lentil (Masoor Daal, Musuri’r Daal) – 1 fistfull (well Clint Eastwood’s Dollars trilogy seem to have taken […]

  8. […] have found that Masur dal post on my blog has become the most popular post. In most Bengali households masur or red lentil is […]

  9. […] Serve with tomato sauce and onions or also use it as an accompaniment with rice and dal. […]

Leave a comment