Here I Cook

Ek Bangalir Rannaghaur Theke(From a Bengali’s Kitchen)

Begun Bhaja/ Aubergine fry

Posted by Sudeshna on December 7, 2008

Brinjal – aubergine – egg plant, whatever you call it, it tastes the same. I remember those nights when mom used to fry aubergine. The smell loomed over the whole household. Aubergine fry or begun bhaja is one of my favorites. I love them with roti.

Yesterday when I went to the nearby supermarket, I saw a big placard hanging on top of the aubergine basket. It was a whole list of the nutrient contents of aubergine. I am not sure though that those nutrient value retains after deep frying. Navita had written a post on aubergine fry, you cannot fry aubergine in a different style but I have one ingredient more to let the aubergine absorb less oil.

begun-roti

Serves 4

Ingredients:

Aubergine (Begun): 1 medium size

Turmeric powder (Halud Guro): ¼ teaspoon

Sugar (Chini): ¼ teaspoon

Mustard oil (Sarser Tel) for deep frying

Salt to taste

Preparation:

  • Cut the aubergine in 2 inches width circles
  • Put spices over the cut aubergine pieces
  • Heat oil in a deep frying pan , when fumes comes out of the oil fry the egg plants

begun-bhaja

Aubergine absorbs too much oil while frying, so it is best to wrap them with blotting paper before serving. It’s my mom’s tip to put little sugar which also helps the aubergine to absorb less oil.

Check for more updates here, till then Happy Cooking and Happy Eating.

9 Responses to “Begun Bhaja/ Aubergine fry”

  1. lol…i was laughing away at ur comment dear. just hve time now..n so bloggin away to glory..lol.
    btw u on a eggplant spree?? first morichut & now my fav bhaja…yum yum!

  2. @Navita
    Yes am in aubergine spree, I just love it

  3. Shruthi said

    Thanks for visiting my blog..
    Will check ur recipes now. I have never tasted bengali food. It will be a good exp for me to try ur recipes too

  4. Purva said

    Baigan fritters look really tempting and its simple and easy to make

    Enjoy the festivities by participating in Christmas Feast Event
    http://purvasdaawat.blogspot.com/2008/12/christmas-feast.html

  5. dragonlife said

    Dear Sudeshna!
    First of all, greetings and thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!
    Aubergines originated in India, didn’t they?
    They are very popular in Japan and France, my home country!
    I just love them in Indian food!
    A popular cooking way in Japan is to grill them first, peel the skin and serve them hot with ponzu (or soy sauce) and grated fresh ginger!
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles
    http://shizuokagourmet.wordpress.com/

  6. Soma said

    Nothing like begun bhaja!! ami shudhu gorom bhaat diye begun bhaja khayi:-)

  7. srilekha said

    looks delicious and yum!

  8. Arundhuti said

    hey sudeshna…i tagged u for the Breadline Africa bakeoff at http://gourmetaffair.blogspot.com/2008/12/whole-wheat-bread.html

    hope u dont mind

    its not compulsory.. if its too much of a trouble u can skip it..:)

  9. sagari said

    eggplant fry looks deleciousss

Leave a comment