Here I Cook

Ek Bangalir Rannaghaur Theke(From a Bengali’s Kitchen)

Macher Jhol

Posted by Sudeshna on May 20, 2008

We’ve moved to own domain name – bengalicuisine.net. You can follow me on Twitter, visit my Flickr photostream.

Fish had always been my love at the dining table. Fish of all types and fish of all kinds does always bring that extra smile to my face. This is the reason why I am just enjoying my stay here in Bengal. I feel that it is for all Bengalis wherever they are, fish is the best way to end the meal. My mom used to cook a very simple but the most delicious fish curry, when I used to go to school. I still like that fish curry. Here it is for all you readers. To tell you one simple trick to make this curry a bit more spicy, cook it with any kind of fresh fish brought from the market that same day.

Ingredients:

Fish (Maach): 4 pieces

Potato (Aalu): 2 , cut like finger chips

Onion (Peyaj): 1small, chopped finely

Turmeric powder (Halud guro): 1/2 teaspoon

Chilli powder (Sukno lankar guro): 1 teaspoon

Cumin powder (jira guro): 1 teaspoon

Mustard oil (Sarser tel): 2 tablespoons

Bay leaf (Tej pata): 2

Salt to taste

Preparation:

  • Half fry the fish pieces, potatoes separately and keep aside.
  • Take oil in a wok and sauté the onions, and the bay leaves.
  • Add all the spices to the sautéd onions and fry a bit.
  • Add 2 cups of water and to it add the fried potatoes.
  • Cook the broth till it starts boiling and then add the fish pieces, take care so that those do not break.
  • Cook till the potatoes get fully cooked.
  • Serve with rice and enjoy eating.

I prepared this dish with Rohu (rui maach), you can do the same with any fleshy fish.

You can also Subscribe to BengaliCuisine by Email, or Subscribe in a reader

3 Responses to “Macher Jhol”

  1. Anushree said

    Thanks a lot!!!!! This tastes exactly like my Maa’s recipe.

  2. B P Sinha said

    Ummm…..bengali dishes my favourites…..I feel sorry for not marrying a bengali bride. One of my bengali friend’s wife served me fish curry (hardly 1 or 2 inches length)small fish….it was with curry…so delicious…so tasty….that I could not forget that….could you please send me how to cook small fish with curry…? I am now 58…sorry….can not marry any more…..ha ha ha ha

  3. ruma chatterji said

    Hello,
    Can u please send me recipe of CHAPOR GHONTO.
    Thanks.

Leave a comment