Here I Cook

Ek Bangalir Rannaghaur Theke(From a Bengali’s Kitchen)

Archive for August 6th, 2008

Dim Lalbahari

Posted by Sudeshna on August 6, 2008

After coming back home tonight, I found there was actually no vegetables left. The only thing that I found in my kitchen was two tomatoes, some onions, garlic and of course there was my all time ready stock of eggs. Putting on my apron, I was ready to prepare something really rich and spicy, because the last few days I was only eating blunt non-spicy food and my taste buds were all expecting something to get aroused.

The cooking time was short. Cooked some rice, and served the dinner at the dining table. My little experiment with the left out morsels turned out to be delicacy. Tasty, spicy and easy to cook, the best one can ask after a whole day’s work. The current gone once again for the second time after I reached home, Enrique singing in my laptop, the candle light at the dinner table and the hot food: all added to excellent milieu of tonight’s dinner. I would just love to have it once more.

The recipe here’s for all of you.

Serves: 2

Cooking Time: 10 mins

Ingredients:

Egg (Dim): 4

Tomato: 2

Onion (Peyaj): 2

Garlic (Rasun): 4 / 6 cloves

Ginger- garlic paste (Aada-Rasun bata): 1½ teaspoons

Turmeric powder (Halud guro): 1 teaspoon

Chili powder (Shukhno Lankar guro): ½ teaspoon

Garam Masala: ½ teaspoon

Sunflower oil (Tel): 2 tablespoons

Salt to taste

The ingredients

The ingredients

Preparation:

  • Chop the onions and tomato into small pieces.
  • Beat the eggs in a bowl; just add ½ teaspoon salt with it.
  • Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a wok.
  • As the oil gets fully heated add the beaten eggs and fry to make a big omelet.
  • Set the omelet on a dish and cut it into four halves or you may cut it in your own way.
  • Add the left out oil on the wok and heat.
  • Add the onion and garlic cloves as the oil gets heated. Sauté until the onions soften.
  • Add the ginger-garlic paste.
  • Throw in the tomatoes; add all spices along with salt.
  • Pour little water if it becomes too dry.
  • As the gravy starts becoming thicker add the fried pieces of eggs and toggle them in the gravy.
  • Serve hot with rice, chapathi or roti.

Am sure you’ll enjoy cooking it and of course having it. Catch on for the other recipes. Till then happy cooking and happy eating.

Ready to serve Dim Lalbahari

Ready to serve Dim Lalbahari

Posted in Egg, snacks | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments »